10 Cheap Travel Tips

A few of the best perks of being a young professional are salaries,freedom, and paid time off. For the year 2017, I made it a goal to take a trip to a different city every month. As expected, this has required some serious planning, dedicated friends, and budgeting. Overtime, I learned a few tips and tricks to help lessen the dent in your pockets.

  1. Airbnb – I’m not going to lie, at first I was hesitant to try an Airbnb but I have been pleasantly surprised by the services received. Not only is it usually cheaper, but I have experienced better service and accommodations at some of these locations than at renowned hotels.
  2. Β Turn your website cookies OFF – Always search for prices in incognito or private browsing mode to see the lowest prices. I used to believe I was paranoid when I would see advertisements for my planned destination everywhere. Yet, I’ve learned that based on the cookies in your web-browser, flight prices increase when a particular route is repeatedly searched. This method pressures the consumer to quickly buy the ticket in fear of rising prices.
  3. Six Week Rule – Flights are cheapest six weeks before the departure date and in particular on a Tuesday afternoon. You are welcome.
  4. Consider Alternate Airports – Most major cities in the U.S have alternate airports that host low-cost airlines. I would suggest mapping out the travel route of your planned destination to the alternative airport to determine if the extra distance is cost effective.
  5. Try to Fly on a Weekday – Although not ideal, it is cheapest to fly on a Tuesday or a Wednesday. Consider taking a vacation from Wednesday to Tuesday, rather than a Monday to Sunday.
  6. Fly Out Early – Not only is it typically cheapest to fly out first in the morning, but that also means you get to take advantage of a full day at your destination.
  7. SecretFlying.Com – This website is a free service that does not require a membership and is nothing short of amazing. In essence, if the website finds a great deal they post and the customer books via a third party online travel agent. They offer deals all around the world (seriously check it outΒ here)
  8. Fly Multiple Airlines – Most airlines sell one-way flights at a reasonable price so it may be cheapest to fly to your destination with one airline and return home using another airline.
  9. Avoid Checking Your Bag – Unless checked bags are free, I try my best to avoid checking my bag. Every now and then I pack a heavy carry-on that I know may not necessarily fit overhead; but as long as you make it past security with the bag chances are staff will side check it for free. I usually feel cheap and guilty after doing this…but it works πŸ™‚
  10. Last but not least bring a travel buddy – Everything is more cost effective when splitting.

I hope you found some of these tips helpful. Comment below to let me know any tips you like or any tips of your own.

2 thoughts on “10 Cheap Travel Tips

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

